OSU Implements Open Access Policy!

The Oregon State University Faculty Senate formally voted yesterday, June 13, 2013, to pass a university-wide open access policy!  Shan Sutton, the Associate University Librarian for Research and Scholarly Communication, and Michael Boock, head of the Libraries Center for Digital Scholarship and Services, spearheaded the OSU Libraries & Press initiative. Both worked closely with the OSU Faculty Senate Library Committee, in particular, Marit Bovbjerg (chair) and Rich Carter, over the many months of outreach and advocacy needed to bring this initiative to fruition.

Shan and Michael both credit numerous library faculty and staff who have worked for several years on outreach and initiatives related to open access. Among them are  Bonnie Avery, Deanne Bruner, Debbie Campbell and Sue Kunda, along with members of the Scholarly Communication Working Group.

Information about the Open Access Policy, including links to various presentations to the OSU Faculty Senate is available at:  http://cdss.library.oregonstate.edu/open-access

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *