• This site is the primary online presence for ACRL-Oregon, which serves a dual role as the Oregon chapter of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) as well as the Academic Library Division of the Oregon Library Association (OLA).
  • ACRL logo
  • OLA logo
  • ACRL-Oregon logo
  • Site Policy

  • Categories

  • Archives

Nominations for ACRL Excellence in Academic Libraries Now Open

Will your library be the next winner of the ACRL Excellence in Academic Libraries Award? If you think the answer could be “Yes,” please read on!

The ACRL Excellence in Academic Libraries Award, sponsored by YBP Library Services, recognizes one outstanding community college, college, and university library each year for the accomplishments of librarians and other library staff as they come together as members of a team to support the mission of their institution. In recent years, award-winning institutions like Indiana University (2010), Carleton College (2008), and Hostos Community College (CUNY) (2007) have been recognized for the way in which librarians and library staff have come together to engage their students, faculty, and community users to design and deliver innovative services, spaces, and collections that represent the best of what a 21st-century library can be. It’s your turn!

Nominations are currently being accepted for the ACRL Excellence in Academic Libraries Award, and are due on December 3, 2010. If you think you work in an outstanding library that deserves recognition, please review the guidelines for preparing a nomination at <http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/acrl/awards/excellenceacademic.cfm>. If you have colleagues at a library that deserves recognition, please share this message with them. ACRL members are an integral part of the award process, and we depend on you to help to ensure that the best of our colleagues are recognized for their work.

Complete information about ACRL’s Awards Program is on the ACRL Web site <www.acrl.org> (click on “Awards”). An article in the September 2010 issue of C&RL News outlines all ACRL awards programs, and is available at <http://crln.acrl.org/content/71/8/440.full>. Finally, you can hear from previous Award winners about what winning this award meant to their libraries in a series of podcasts being delivered all this year through ACRL Insider <http://www.acrl.ala.org/acrlinsider/> (look for the “Awards” tag).

If you have any questions about the ACRL Excellence in Academic Libraries Award or the nominations process, please contact Scott Walter <swalter@illinois.edu>, Chair of the ACRL Excellence in Academic Libraries Award Nominations Committee.


Scott Walter, M.L.S., Ph.D.
Associate University Librarian for Services and Associate Dean of Libraries
Professor of Library Administration and Library & Information Science
246 Library, MC-522
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
1408 W. Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-0318 (voice)
217-244-4358 (fax)

%d bloggers like this: